Support the IAJRC

Click the Donate button to submit any amount towards the IAJRC.

Alternate Donate Method
Send a check made out to IAJRC to:

Ian Tiele
IAJRC Treasurer
3724 Morton Avenue
Brookfield, IL 60513

CD Quick Index

Tenor Sax of Lucky Thompson

The Beginning Years

Product Details

  • Audio CD: Released 1991
  • Material Recording Dates: 1945 - 1947
  • Material Recording Locations: Los Angeles
  • Source Material: 78 RPM
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: IAJRC
  • Catalog Number: CD-1001
  • Number of Pages In Booklet: 8
  • Total Playing Time: 68:12
  • Remaining stock: Good

Listen to Track Samples

1. Vout Rhythm (a)
2. Stormy Mood (a)
3. Baggin' the Boogie (a)
4. Bee Boogie Boo (a)
5. Irresistible You (b)
6. Phace (b)  
7. Don't Drive This Jive Away (c)  
8. The Hour of Parting (d)  
9. Abernathy's Boogie (d)  
10. Cherokee (d)  
11. Slowin' Down the Blues (d)  
12. I'm Gonna See My Baby (d)  
13. Frantic Blues (d)  
14. Snowbound (e)  
15. Flight of the Vout Bug (f)  
16. It Shouldn't Happen to a Dream (f)  
17. For You (g)  
18. Things Ain't What They Used to Be (h)  
19. Jeep's Blues (h)  
20. Day Dream (h)  
21. Take The "A" Train (h)  
22. Hickory Dickory Dock (i)  
23. Blue Rhythm Be-bop (j)  


(a) Bob Mosley and All Stars
(b) Lucky Tompson's All Stars
(c) Estelle Edson with Oscar Pettiford and His All Stars
(d) George's Dukes and Dutchess
(e) David Allyn with Frank Davenport Quintet
(f) Lyle Griffin and His Orchestra
(g) Basin Street Boys
(h) Ike Carpenter and His Orchestra
(i) Ernie Andrews with Eddie Beale and His Fourtette
(j) Mills Blue Rhythm Band